Yungas (AKA WMDR), Bolivia

bolivia all 286So what on earth is the WMDR I here you ask? Only the ‘World’s Most Dangerous Road,’ that’s what. No, officially and everything. See, Wikipedia says so:  

“Also known as Road of Death, Yungas is a 61 kilometer road leading from La Paz to Coroico. It is legendary for its extreme danger. In 1995 the Inter-American Development Bank christened it as the “world’s most dangerous road”. An average of 15 people are killed per year.” – They simply freefall off the edge and plumet 600ms. Like the coyote from the Road Runner Cartoons. Less funny obviously, especially when we ride past their graves. 

But this is the sort of nonsense activity that seems to happen when you travel with three boys. We get up at 6am after 4h sleep to strap on thick elbow/shine pads, tour de France vests, and gnarly helmets, to get on Bolivian style (read battered/no suspension) BMX bikes and hurtle down a vertical road of 38 miles at an average speed of 40mph.

What we should have asked for was a parachute. The drops off the sheer cliff edges are ridiculous. I can’t even exaggerate now easy it is to plummet off the 3 meter wide dirt tracks. Especially if you take your eyes off the road for even a second, or skid when you break, which happens a lot.  Twenty of us start the day, 9 of us take a tumble into the gravel. 9 of them, I should say.  I was fine, namely as I cowered with my breaks half on for the first 20 miles. I still have no idea how my bones didn’t shatter.

I must admit however by the time I’d descended from 3600m from icy mountains, into humid jungle, I’ll admit I got quite into it. Plus, I was the first of 10 girls to finish. Pow.

Leave a Reply

An.an.tas.in : The Anantasin is the name of a shipwreck just of the coast of the Sensi Parasise, Mae Haad Bay, Koh Tao, Thailand. It’s one of my many favorite places.

Lit.tle: Just because it’s cute.

Blasts From The Past…

May 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

