Puerta Galara to Boracay

So I’ll cut through the first bit. A jeepney from Sabang to Puerta Galara town, transfer to a Calapan bound Jeepney, transfer to minivan to Roxas port. Take a 4 hour ferry to Caticlan, then swap to a small bangka (dinky boat) to Boracay, and finally a trike to Boat Station 3. All in all 12 hours.  One hour spent happily playing with the cute 3 year old kid of the Czech Republic family I befriended. The only other moment that brought on a smile to my face was boarding the small cramped bangka boat to watch the Filipinos all lunge for lifejackets before we even left the port. The ratio of jackets to passengers was all looking the way of the Titanic, but worried that many of the locals may not be able to swim, it only fair to do the right thing and give mine up. It did make me curious as to how often they sink though?! Everyone was slightly too keen.

The best bit of my day however, was in finding somewhere to sleep for the night. I first plumped for Tree House; the cheapest $300 peso ($6USD) a night hostel. It’s 10pm, it’s a long shot. It’s great….. No, not really, that wouldn’t make for a good story would it. It is of course full. Gutted. I traipse my ass along the beach elsewhere. And when I say elsewhere I mean to AT LEAST 20 other guesthouses. They are all full. Finally I find a nice lady, who tells me she has a room, but then smugly tells me its $1500 peso/$25. To be fair, at least three guesthouse owners/security guards/passersbys came out to help me. I had the whole island on it and played the ‘just me, alone sad face’ card, yet no one could find me anywhere. Just when the bottom lip was quivering and I was mid way though weighing up the pro/cons of a night sleeping on the beach, I passed a doorway and just murmured ‘woe is me/room?’ To my surprise the guy shouted me back, saying something to his friend that implied he was at least taking an interest. Now normally I’d be concerned that this didn’t appear to be an actual guesthouse, more like someone’s home, but beggars cannot be choosers and all that. He shouts up to his wife, then next thing you know he has a door in his hand and is nailing me together a bamboo hut! It needs cleaning and is ‘homestay’ he tells me, but I ignore the euphemisms. I am ecstatic to finally find somewhere, anywhere, and might just be the only person to haggle a $500 room 2 mins from the beach. I follow him up some bamboo steps expecting the worsted and he leads me into a cute, clean, little hut with Beatrix Potter like bed spread, grabs me a fan, and hammers the door and lock on and boom. I have a home! He only goes and hits me with the grand finale too….free wifi! Love it when a plan comes together!

Leave a Reply

An.an.tas.in : The Anantasin is the name of a shipwreck just of the coast of the Sensi Parasise, Mae Haad Bay, Koh Tao, Thailand. It’s one of my many favorite places.

Lit.tle: Just because it’s cute.

Blasts From The Past…

January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 183 other followers

