Boracay, The Philippines

Since me and the beaches have been on a break now since Sihanoukville in early Dec, Boracay is quite the contender to come back to. It’s up there with the bluest sea I have ever seen, as is a well kept 3k stretch known as Boat Stations 1, 2 and 3, alternating restaurants and a number of dive shops. It loses points however for being pricy (by SEA standards), due in part to its popularity with Korean tourists. And slightly characterless or maybe just too clean cut. Call me picky.

Alas, it’s a good place to hit the bars for a couple of good night’s out, and at last I have some dorm friends as it’s the closest thing to a backpacker scene in the PP’s. As sometimes happens once in a while in a dorm, we all hit it off immediately; I meet Rob (Netherlands) & Nikita (London) and Kaylynne (America), plus one or two other randoms that make up the numbers. Oh and my favourite; Bowjangles, a 60 something Filipino man who I meet in Mario’s restaurant who I have a lovely talk about life with. He’s up there with my other fave OAP’s Louis from Brazil & the fox from the Singapore Little India market.

As well at its White Beach, B is famous for Bolabog Beach and the sport of head cases; Kite surfing. My only dalliance with kite surfing was back in Surfers Oz with Lucian (Matt Damon lookalike,) who learnt originally here in Boracay. Well Mark was there too but his only input was to laugh at me terrified and trapped, harnessed to all the equipment, and all but encourages huge gusts of wind to fly me off into the air. You wish :)

Put it this way; it’s dangerous stuff. When done properly the guys can pick up huge jumps and god knows how many miles per hours on their surf boards. It’s exhausting to watch, which is what I did all day with a Red Horse beer in hand from the safety of a beanbag in a bar. Or so I thought. At 4pm ish the winds really picked up. Next thing you know some rooky taking lessons slams smack into the side of my beach bar, his fall only broken by bouncing off the beach first. Credit to the surf school guys, they were there in a flash to grab him and pull his release bar (Even I, from my one lesson, knew he had about 3 seconds to do this or else.) Thankfully they did, and he hobbled away with only a bad ankle and bruised ego. The $300 kite however flapped wildly, meters up in the air caught in the palm trees. Which could have easily have been him. Lucky escape.

Leave a Reply

An.an.tas.in : The Anantasin is the name of a shipwreck just of the coast of the Sensi Parasise, Mae Haad Bay, Koh Tao, Thailand. It’s one of my many favorite places.

Lit.tle: Just because it’s cute.

Blasts From The Past…

January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 186 other followers

