Brisbane & Byron Bay Revisited

Four years ago I passed through the Gold Coast midway through my round the world trip.  I was free-spirited, on a shoestring & probably a lot grubber. It feels like yesterday & a lifetime ago at the same time. Now in my thirties & a new mother, here it is again, through slightly different eyes…

  1. It turns out Brisbane is a lovely city! I was down on it last time. From the alfresco airport cafe to the Botanical Gardens to enjoying an outdoor glass of rose in St Georges Square on a warm August evening. It was great to inject a splash of summer to our Melbourne winter.
  2. The Gold Coast is where it’s at for beachy bridalwear. I was lucky enough to squeeze in an appointment in hippy wedding dress heaven; Grace Loves Lace. Behind their Balinese door lurks a little bit of Bohemia in the middle of Burleigh suburbia.
  3. I have a new appreciation of just how many steps there are to Byron’s famous Lighthouse  (with a pram). Spotting wild dolphins from the coastal lookouts is always worth it though.
  4. Traveling with a 4 month baby is a great family experience. Baby backpacker loved the flight as well as the sunshine & change of scene. Like everything in life, it’s never as scary as it seems.
  5. Circus acrobatics are the new fire-twirling for Gen Y travelers. Everyone who is everyone had a tight-rope tied to a Byron Bay tree, or a patch of public grass to get their Cirque Du Soleil on. I figure I’m allowed to affectionately mock backpackers, having been one for so long :)

Leave a comment

An.an.tas.in : The Anantasin is the name of a shipwreck  just of the coast of the Sensi Parasise, Mae Haad Bay, Koh Tao, Thailand.  That trip sparked a love for adventure, writing, and exploring the world.

Lit.tle: Because my travels started out just little old me.

Blasts From The Past…

August 2015
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 57 other subscribers